Writings

Here I Am

Here I am, alone and exposed.

Here I am, awake and alive.
I hope you know

I crossed the Jordan to get here.

I hope you appreciate that.
I waded in that water,

Cold and naked,

And full of myself.
I swam right across,

And climbed out on the other side.
Here I am, unwarranted and unprotected.

Here I am, frightened and shaking.
I hope you know

I almost drowned in the Jordan.

I hope you appreciate that.
The current urged me towards the Dead Sea,

Rushed and wet,

And spilling water.
I swam in the opposite direction,

And pulled my body through the river.
Here I am, drenched and jaded.

Here I am, bitter and unmoved.
I hope you know

I flowed in the wet to get here.

I hope you appreciate that.

3 thoughts on “Here I Am”

Leave a Reply

