Unboxings

Boxycharm April 2017: Bad Timing and Broken Makeup

This month’s BoxyCharm has certainly been mired in controversy and there’s currently nothing I’d rather do than wallow in all the scandal. Before we get into that, here are a few quick facts about the subscription service: 

  1. The subscription box is $21.00 a month
  2. It’s said to come with 4-5 full size items.
  3. They have recently come out with a beauty quiz that will allow them to better tailor products to each individual subscriber.

Now let’s get down to it. I’ll be giving my honest opinion of each product and going over any drama concerning the items.

The first thing I used was the concealer palette. 

When I first opened it up I was underwhelmed. The packaging was cheap and flimsy and I was convinced it would be nothing special. Turns out, I was wrong. 

The shade ‘Ginger’ turned out to be the perfect under eye concealer. The formula is nice and creamy and blends wonderfully. It has officially taken the place of my Rimmel London Match Perfection Concealer. I was definitely pleased. 

The next items I want to cover are the PΓΌr Cosmetics Blending Sponges.

I love these little angels! They are soft with just the right amount of firmness. Who could ask for more? 

Next up is the Hairgurt shampoo. 

Now I had No intentions of being blown away. It’s just a shampoo after all, but I was pleasantly surprised. It worked like a shampoo should, and the best part is that my hair smelled like a smoothie all day.

Up next, the Ofra Highlighter. For most people that received this box, this product was nothing more than a headache. If you haven’t read my post where I go into detail about all of the controversy surrounding this product then click here to catch up.

Luckily for me I was able to fix the hot mess I was sent and give a go for you guys.

It turns out the glow is great! I loved it. I felt like a real glow getter (hah!). I might even check out the other highlighters Ofra has to offer (provided they don’t come broken). 

Last but not least is the Cargo Cosmetics lip gloss in the shade ‘Umbria’. 

I would prefer to wear this as a topper than just a gloss. It’s got a very nice shimmer to it. 

The only thing I don’t like about it is the wand. The wand is so incredibly flimsy that I’m almost certain it’ll snap off one day when I’m using it. 

*just look at the way it bends?! 

All in all this box was pretty great. I still wish No One would’ve received broken products. That’s just no fun. I’ll keep an eye next month for sure.

Until Next We Meet,

Arrianne

2 thoughts on “Boxycharm April 2017: Bad Timing and Broken Makeup”

Leave a Reply

