Unboxings

Sephora Play April 2017: The Skin I’m In

This was my very first Sephora Play bag. Once I finally got off of the waitlist I got to see what all of the hype was about. Before we see if it was worth riding the waitlist for, let’s go over a few quick facts about Sephora Play:

  1. The bags are $10.00 a month Plus whatever the tax is for your state.
  2. Each bag comes with a Play! pass that can be redeemed for 50 extra beauty insider points when you make a purchase in store.
  3. Subscribers receive 5 deluxe samples of beauty, skin, and hair care, as well as a bonus sample of perfume.

Now let’s get down to business. As I mentioned earlier, I was on the wait list for some time. I’m not the type to really mind though. My general feeling is there are tons of other boxes I could try in the meantime. When I got the bag I was overjoyed with just how cute it was! I Unboxed it on my Snapchat like I always do (my Snapchat is poisonedannie). I’ll admit the excitement wore off when I discovered I only had one beauty item. I pressed on though because I just knew there was more to this bag than I was noticing.

The first item I tried was the Miu Miu L’eau Bleue perfume. It has notes of lily of the valley, wild rose, and akigalawood. It wasn’t for me. It smells like a bingo hall. It would be OK if it reminded me of my grandma instead of just grandmas in general. My gam smelled like wicker and old books in case you were wondering ( I miss her a lot). I never put this on because I knew it would just bother me all day. I’m sure some people really like the smell of this, but it’s a no for me. Personal reasons I guess. 

Next up was this cloud cream. I used it as a moisturizer before putting on makeup. I have to say, I Really like this! At first I thought Peter Thomas Roth was just an over hyped brand but I can’t get over the fact that this leaves my skin tingling (am I the only one who loves that?), plus it didn’t clog my pores! 

Up next on the docket is this Smash box primer. I’m gonna be honest, this just felt a little like a cop out. I feel like this particular primer is so common in subscription boxes. I just got this in a full size in March’s Boxycharm. I kind of see it everywhere. Still, fair is fair and this is a good primer so I shouldn’t be so whiny about it. I just wish that smash box would offer up a different type of primer if they’re going to let one be included in subscription services. I’d love to try the others.

Here’s that one beauty item. Make Up For Ever’s water proof eyeliner is pretty cool.

It’s nice and smooth. It glides on easily and if I was the type to do winged eyeliner (it’s not really my thing) I’m confident this would be easy to do it with. 

This was so good! Who knew Sephora had it in them?! 

One quick swipe with a q-tip dipped in this stuff and all of my eye makeup was gone, including the waterproof liner! I’m renaming this stuff Blue Magic.

Finally we have the Philosophy Purity face cleanser. I said on Snapchat that this stuff smells like soap and frosting, and I stand by those words. It’s less fragrant on your face though, so if scents aren’t your thing, you don’t really have to worry about that here. I really like this little bottle of good. It makes your skin really soft and I now use it every night before bed.

I have to say, I was surprised. I started off underwhelmed and wound up convinced I need the full size of Most of this stuff. I thought I really wanted makeup, but I’m actually greatful I got more skin care. I guess sometimes when we think of beauty, we forget there’s more to it than cosmetics. This bag taught me a lesson, and I’m glad it did. 

Until Next We Meet,

Arrianne

2 thoughts on “Sephora Play April 2017: The Skin I’m In”

  1. ” It would be OK if it reminded me of my grandma instead of just grandmas in general.” – LOL, wow. Too funny…and sad, haha.
    So, the primer – I’m looking for one. I know you’re bummed that you got it again, but have you reviewed it elsewhere on your blog? I’m curious about it.
    Also, how did the eye makeup remover feel on your skin after removing the makeup? One I have by Neutrogena says oil-free but it absolutely feels oily. πŸ˜› I’m definitel ylooking for another brand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t yet but I’ve been thinking of doing just that. It really is a great primer. The eye makeup remover didn’t leave my eye feeling oily at all, but when I tried it all over my face, I felt like an oil slick. I didn’t mention in the post because I wasn’t sure it was really relevant since it is technically just an eye makeup remover lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

