Gem or Junk

So Susan Skinsider: Highlight Real?

I received this little cutie in the same subscription service that I won’t be going into much detail about right now. I have quite a few thoughts about this palette but before we go down the rabbit hole, let’s gather our breadcrumbs:

  1. So Susan Cosmetics has a monthly subscription service that also features products from their sister brands Trifle Cosmetics, and Jelly Pong Pong Cosmetics.
  2. The brand is Cruelty Free.
  3. They have a direct contact if you want to ask specific questions about their ingredients, or just need a little help understanding them. It’s rare to find a brand so reachable.

Away we go! So I received this in a subscription service, but let’s act as if I hadn’t. My experience won’t be much different than someone ordering a specific product since I received the subscription from This brand. The highlighter palette is a first for So Susan. It retails for $42.00 but when you first visit the site they give you a coupon for 20% off so you can save a little.

I’ll be honest, opening it up I was unimpressed. The price tag made me believe it would be something it wasn’t. The packaging is cheap, though this is to be expected of indie brands. This really made me feel like the pricing was…off.

It’s a smooth baked gelee formula. I would compare the feel of it to Ofra highlighters. This made me feel a little better about the price. 

*excuse the excess glitter, it did Not come from these swatches!

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you. I fell in love with these swatches. I was particularly interested in the pumpkin spicy color in the far left of this photo. The formula and the swatches are beautiful! 

I placed the highlighter on my forehead and the bridge of my nose. I have to say, the glow is real! 

I know the price tag is a turn off, but the product is Not! If I had to pick between this palette and a $35.00 Ofra highlighter, I’m going with this all the way. The formula is the same except this palette has more options, which I really like. There are so many glows to choose from and the colors show up well on different skin types.

I’m not going to say you should immediately go out and buy it. It is $42.00 after all, but you should Definitely check it out. 

You may just want to give it a glow.

Until Next We Meet,

Arrianne

1 thought on “So Susan Skinsider: Highlight Real?”

Leave a Reply

