Gem or Junk

E.L.F. Hydrating Gel Melt Cleanser: Ready for This Jelly?

I grabbed this stuff while wondering around a Walmart. I wasn’t searching for something when I stumbled across this. Instantly I knew I had to try it. Before we find out if this was a whirlwind romance or a horribly unfunny romcom, let’s cover a few quick facts about the brand:

  1. The brand has stock options and even has pricing on their site.
  2.  They really keep consumers aware, even giving the option to review financial records. Talk about open!
  3. They’ve been around since 2004.

Now let’s get to the good stuff. I purchased this for $10.00. I had to reread it a couple of times to make sure it was a makeup remover. I wish the packaging was a little more clear about that.

The packaging is very unlike e.l.f. It’s absolutely gorgeous and you can tell it wasn’t cheap to produce. The container is a beautiful powder blue frosted glass with silver trim. The seal on the top is plastic which gives me the sense it’s intended to be reused. The tip of it is even a little leaf. It honestly didn’t look like it cost 10 bucks. Now I’m sure many of us have heard some variation of the phrase “lipstick on a pig” which essentially means dressing something up doesn’t change the contents of it. I personally think pigs are cute without lipstick but whatever.

This may sound silly but I was Not expecting this to be an actual gel! I know it has gel in the name but I was honestly really surprised. 

As you can see from this picture of me sneezing I was sporting a full face of makeup. 

*excuse the lips, I use a lip scrub to remove any kind of lip stick or gloss. Works like a charm, even on matte liquid lippies.

I followed the instructions and put it on half of my mug (not the Elvis one I drink cocoa out of, but my actual face). The directions were simple enough. Just use dry hands to apply to face and use water to create a lather and remove. 

When I tell you to use just a little of this stuff I mean it. You definitely don’t need a lot of it. A dime sized amount will easily cover your face. It may not seem like it, but once you put it on, it spreads like butter, or cream cheese, or some other delicious spreadable food. 

It took off my makeup perfectly! My skin was so soft afterwards. I know those of you with oily skin are wondering, but your skin is Not left covered in oil like most makeup removers! 

My favorite part is that it actually gets the job done. With Every makeup remover I have ever tried I’ve had to wash my face with soap and a konjac sponge afterwards. I’m always finding that not All of the makeup has been removed and I’m a stickler about keeping my pores from clogging so I usually have to do a little extra work.

That was Not the case with this stuff. I went back over my face with soap and a sponge and there was No makeup left to wipe away. It was all gone which makes me so happy. Now removing my makeup is as simple as using this gel and going to bed. Knowing that this isn’t letting makeup set up a shanty town in my pores, I get to rest easy.

My skin loves me. Don’t be jelly! Give this a whirl and yours will too.

Until Next We Meet, 

8 thoughts on “E.L.F. Hydrating Gel Melt Cleanser: Ready for This Jelly?”

      1. It actually reminds me of sherbet cleansers which I am also seeing a lot these days, particularly the Banila Co. Clean It Zero cleanser (It’s a Korean brand, hence the crazy name haha).

        Hope I get to try this one from E.L.F. too. They’ve got loads of affordable high quality products. Oops, sorry my comment is quite long.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

