Gem or Junk

EM Cosmetics Infinite Lip Cloud: High Flying or Too Close to the Sun?

Recently em cosmetics rebranded. They went from flirty and cute to sleek and edgy. In all honesty, I hadn’t heard of the brand until earlier last month just after their relaunch. The moment I heard about it, I was bound to get in on it. Before we find out if em should go back to the drawing board, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand:

  1. This brand is Michelle Phan’s baby.
  2. The brand does not test on animals.
  3. The site is currently sporting a wonderfully helpful and cathartic eyeliner tutorial. 

Now let’s get to the juicy parts. I picked up this product for $16.00 and shipping is currently free. It was wrapped in gorgeous tissue paper with gold printed geometrical shapes.  They look to be some sort of polyhedron but I’m not sure which. Anyhoo, I snagged the shade ‘Ultramarine Violet’ which is described as a “deep, blue-violet”.

Firstly, I want to say that this has got to be some of my favorite.

 The packaging is a tube with gold lettering. There’s a glossed black cap with EM’s now signature polyhedron plated in gold on top of it. It’s absolutely gorgeous.

As you can see in this swatch it’s more of a creme than lipstick. This would make sense because it is advertised as a lip creme.

The applicator is incredible. It has a little scoop in it which cups your lips perfectly!

The product itself is a tad patchy on first application. You’ll definitely need a second swipe to get it opaque. That being said, I really enjoy the formula. It’s very light and comfortable. You won’t even notice you’re wearing it throughout the day.

The site claim that this is long wearing. I’m gonna go ahead and say that’s false. This is what happened after I had eaten something. Maybe it would be long wearing if I avoided making contact with anything all day. Maybe if I lived on a nutritious diet of air, that would be true. 

Despite that ridiculous claim, I actually really love this stuff. It’s like a matte liquid lipstick except it doesn’t dry to your lips and leave them all crusty. It’s a comfortable wear and great color payoff. Plus, the beautiful packaging has convinced me I need to collect the rest of them.

If you don’t mind popping this in your purse so you can reapply as necessary, definitely give this a whirl.

Just remember to keep your feet on the ground and your head in the Infinite Lip clouds.

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

