Gem or Junk

Winky Lux Strobing Balm: Glow Crazy?

It’s no secret that I love a good highlight and that I admire indie brands. That being said, or in this case, read, I had been hearing whispers of Winky Lux for a while before I decided to sip the cruelty free koolaid. Before we discover if there was enough sugar in it, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand:

  1. When the brand says limited edition, they mean it! 
  2. They are a member of the Glow Concept brands.
  3. The brand’s signature mascot is the poodle.

Now let’s get glowing. I snagged this item in a limited edition set a little while ago, but we’ll pretend I purchased it on its own. I have the balm in the shade ‘Bubbles’ and the price of it is $16.00. If I’m remembering correctly shipping took around 4 or 5 days.

The balm seems to a very creamy texture. It’s so creamy in fact, that it spreads like a lotion.

The glow is so luminous and based on the swatch I thought it would be a very exaggerated and dramatic highlight. I assumed it would be something you couldn’t get away with wearing every day.

I was actually pleasantly surprised. The glow wound up being more subtle and natural. It almost hearkens to an ambient lighting powder. While I did enjoy the natural luminescence of this, the texture was a no for me. It’s just a little too creamy and you have little control with directing the spreading. It was like trying to put lotion on your hands. You think you’ve got it but before you know it your arms are covered. I would definitely suggest going in with a very light touch when it comes to this stuff.

โ€‹Overall, this was pretty good. I do wish the texture was a little easier to work with, but the glow is nice and natural. 

What do you think? Am I just glowing overboard? 

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

