Gem or Junk

Dr.Brandt Microdermabrasion Exfoliator: Too Rough Around the Edges?

Skincare can be a pretty expensive habit sometimes. In the wave of our favorite beauty gurus and influencers giving us a list of must haves, it can feel more like a luxury than a necessity. I received this a while ago in a Boxycharm box and I was spellbound by the price tag. Now that the curse has worn off and my prince charming (budgeting) has rescued me, I’m ready to spill the beans. Before we see if the price tag matches the results, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand.

  1. The brand was started by dearly beloved Dr. Frederic Brandt who was a dermatologist and one of the first physicians to use BoTox for cosmetic purposes.
  2. The brand regularly conducts research at the University of Miami.
  3. The Dr.Brandt foundation is dedicated to preventing others from meeting their end in the tragic way that Dr. Brandt himself did. They are all about starting a dialogue for mental health.

Now let’s get this party started. As I said before, I received this in a Boxycharm box. The cream is $79.00. Luxe skincare brands always have high prices, looking your way La Mer. Is it worth $79.00 though? Is any beauty product really worth that much? Are we paying for quality, or a name and nice packaging? 

The brand claims that this will eliminate fine lines, leave skin soft, and help with discoloration. You’re supposed to notice results within minutes. 

The instructions are pretty clear. Apply cream to damp skin and gently massage for 90 seconds then rinse. You apparently should be doing this no more than twice a week with at leat three days between each use. 

Putting it on felt like rubbing lemon scented sand into my face. It’s actually quite uncomfortable and takes some getting use to. It was really relaxing though.

I have to say, I didn’t notice much. Aside from my skin being softer, I’ve been using this for a couple of months and I’m not entirely sure it’s doing anything. My skin is soft, but my skin wasn’t very rough to begin with. Other than being relaxing, I don’t know that this is effective. 

There are tons of exfoliators out there and they don’t cost $79.00 either. Honestly for $79.00 this stuff should be working miracles. I’m talking turning tap water into pinot grigio. My skin should’ve come out looking like porcelain. I should’ve rinsed my face and instantly heard angels singing.

Maybe this works differently for other people, but for $79.00 it should be able to work for everyone. This is proof that a price tag doesn’t mean much about a product. 

What do you think? Am I being too abrasive?

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

