Gem or Junk

Milani Color Statement Lipstick: Making the Right Statement?

Every once in a while I come across products that really catch my eye. Milani’s lipsticks have a way of doing that. I see one, and then I buy it. I’ve never stopped to think about if the product is any good or not (I’m a sucker for packaging). Before we see if these are worth the grab, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand:

  1. The brand is both PETA, and Leaping Bunny Certified.
  2. The brand might be debuting some Vegan products soon. They’ve added a tab but nothing’s displayed on it yet.
  3. The brand is based in the City of Angels.

Let’s get busy! I purchased all four of these lippies at various times. Each one was $6.00. There are two Matte shades, and two Satin shades. I’m gonna be perfectly honest and admit my reason for purchasing these is the packaging. Good packaging has that effect. It makes you want to buy something even when you have no idea about it. There’s something about those little gold plastic tubes that catch my eye as I’m in the makeup ailse of Walmart, or Publix, or where ever. 

To be perfectly honest, three of the shades look incredibly similar. While Matte Love is the lightest of the shades, Black Cherry is a little pinker, leaving Cabaret Blend smack dab in the center.

The lippies are incredibly comfortable to wear. The mattes don’t dry out your lips either. They are certainly not transfer proof, but the colors are saturated enough to not fade or wear even if you do get lipstick all over the place. 

I still can’t really get over how I managed to grab three shades so similar I can barely tell them apart.

It seems like I might need to bring a list the next time I pick up these lippies. Aside from incredibly similar shades, I wish the packaging had a way to differentiate between the satin lipsticks and the mattes. I’m betting it’s pretty easy to walk away with a satin when you really wanted a matte and vice versa.

All in all I’m pretty OK with these. I’m not excited or upset, just OK. They’re decent lipsticks but they do have their problems. If the shade variation were better I’d probably be really praising these. 

These might just be lippies to love. 

Until Next We Meet,

2 thoughts on “Milani Color Statement Lipstick: Making the Right Statement?”

Leave a Reply

