Gem or Junk

Becca Pressed Highlighters: High Life or Over Hyped?

I received this in a sample with some things I ordered from Ulta (I got two other Becca Highlighters that I’ll be reviewing pretty soon). To be perfectly honest, I assumed Becca was one of those brands that pretty much bought all the love it gets. Pretty much paying for trade. I thought it’d be interesting to test this out and see if it’s really deserving of all the praise. Before we find out if the church should say Amen, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand:

  1. Becca is pretty much known for their highlighters.
  2. Much beloved beauty guru Jaclyn Hill, had a fantastic collab with the brand that Still seems to leave a lasting impression.
  3. The brand’s site has free shipping on All U.S orders.

Now let’s do the deed. The pressed highlight sample I have is in the shade ‘Opal’. The highlighter is priced at $38.00. 

I’ve gotta admit, the swatch left me pretty impressed. Despite being a pressed powder, it applies pretty effortlessly. The shimmer is beautiful and is certainly eye catching.

So this is a Fantastic highlighter. It blends so well. My favorite part is that it doesn’t really emphasize the texture of your skin like some other highlighters do. To be honest, I get why people speak so highly of it. The glow is stunning!

All that being said, I do still feel like it’s a tad over hyped. It really is a great product and I do really like it. I just don’t see myself paying $38.00 dollars for it. There are so many other amazing highlighters out there for half the price. 

What do you think? Is Becca the highlight of your life?

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

