Gem or Junk

Temptu x Boxycharm Liquid Glow: Glow Getter or Glow Away?

I don’t own any liquid highlighters. For some reason, when I’m shopping, I just sort of look right over them. They’ve never really peaked my interest. So when I got this in a Boxycharm a while ago, I thought it would be the perfect time to try one out. Before we find out if I’m a liquid glow girl, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand: 

  1. Temptu is a well known airbrush makeup brand.
  2. They got their start in body paints and tattoo transfer.
  3. The brand has been around for 30 years.

Now let’s get glowing. This shade was made specifically for Boxycharm and is called ‘Cosmos’. It’s available to buy on their site for $24.00. 

I honestly didn’t like this swatch. While it has some iridescence, it mostly made my skin look greasy. Another thing I wasn’t fond of was the messiness of it. There’s a little metal ball in the bottle which I’m assuming is to help mix the product when you shake it. Problem is, it got stuck on the cap of my bottle. I used a toothpick to dislodge it and highlighter got Everywhere! I know this is a personal problem and normally I wouldn’t factor it into a review, but I can imagine this happening to more than just me. Maybe the hole in it should be a little smaller so that the ball doesn’t get stuck at all. It just seems like an annoying design flaw.

All of that being said, the glow is actually pretty nice. It’s surprisingly easy to blend with your finger (they suggest applying it this way). It sort of melts right into the skin.

For the first time in this blog’s history, it’s a toss up. While I do love the glow, I hate the messiness of it. That puts me in a precarious position. Is it a gem? Is it junk? Should I flip a coin? This is all just a big game of chance. 

It did make me want to try other liquid highlighters though, and that’s good enough for me, at least for now.

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

