Gem or Junk

Supergoop! Setting Spray: Ready, Set, Stay?

I love a good setting spray. When I got this in a subscription service I knew I’d be happy to give it a whirl. Supergoop! is a much beloved brand. Before we find out if it’s loved by me, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand:

  1. The brand is founded by a woman named Holly who had a close friend get diagnosed with skin cancer.
  2. The brand is cruelty free.
  3. Supergoop! products are triple tested before they hit the market.

Now let’s get down to business. The price of this full size is $28.00, though there is a travel size set of this with a lip screen for $22.00 (currently on sale at Sephora for $17.00). Basically you’re supposed to be able to wear this to set makeup, or protect your skin from UV rays throughout the day.

The mister is a dream! It sprays perfectly. Your makeup doesn’t get ruined and it doesn’t feel like you’re getting your face wet. 

The smell on the other hand, is Not my favorite. The scent of it is too much like sunscreen. I’d love if it smelled like something else. 

Now, for the life of me, I couldn’t find anything that talked about how long this mist was supposed to help your makeup last. For me, it lasted about 6-8 hours before my makeup started to shine a little in my t-zone.  To be perfectly honest y’all, I couldn’t even properly test out if it keeps your face matte throughout the day, because I don’t have oily skin. The only part of my face that gets slightly shiny is my t-zone, and it’s so slight that if I weren’t looking so hard, I wouldn’t even notice it.

It’s tough to test these claims of all day UV protection. You sort of just have to have blind faith and hope for the best.

I know it seems like this post is full of complaints, but I actually do like this setting spray. It’s comfortable and my makeup seemed to have staying power. I also like the idea of this spray helping to protect my skin. I just wanted to be clear with you guys about every drawback because I’d want someone to do the same for me. 

I’m all about honest opinions, and it wouldn’t be honest to talk this stuff up as if it were perfect when it isn’t.

Ready, Set, Spray!!

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

