Beauty,, Declutter, Gem or Junk

June 2017 Makeup Declutter: Buh-Bye!

So I don’t know about you guys, but I LOVE decluttering videos and blog posts. They are honestly some of my favorites. Since starting this blog, I’ve come in contact with a Lot of makeup. Some of it I love and some of it just isn’t for me. Whatever the case may be, I only have a finite amount of space. In my fantasy I would regularly visit a vault like Scrooge McDuck (yay childhood reference) and instead of it being filled with gold, it would be filled with makeup that I would dive into and go swimming in. Sadly, that doesn’t exist for me (at least not yet). So all of that being said, it’s time to let a few things go. πŸ–€This post will be on the long side so hunker down.πŸ–€

Let’s start with this blending sponge. I snagged it at Target (it’s their brand of sponge). This is a no all the way around. Wet, or dry, it’s just too hard for me. I prefer my sponges on the firm side, but this is way too firm. It doesn’t blend anything. Product just gets spread around so it’s kind of a waste.

Next up is this Makeup Revolution Flawless Mattes palette. I wanted to review this so bad for you guys, but every time I put it on my eyes I get upset. I knew the review would be scathing and might come off as a little mean. I don’t like the formula (much too chalky for my taste). 

Most of the colors look incredibly similar and just get muddled together on the lid. This is especially the case for me, as a lot of these colors blend right into my skin tone. I was hoping to make some beautiful looks with this palette (especially with the peach and gray shades), but none of them worked out.

I just did a full review on this product and called it a toss up. You can check that out here. Now that I’ve given it a few days, it’s safe to say I won’t really be reaching for this so off it goes. 

Next is this Rimmel London Match Perfection Concealer. I use it as an under eye concealer and it works pretty well. The problem I have with it is the horrible packaging. You Really have to squeeze the life out of the tube to get any sort of product out and that keeps me from reaching for it. It’s just too much work. 

Next is this Revlon Color Stay Creme Shadow in ‘725’. It’s the prettiest gold color but even when set, it has no staying power so I hardly ever reach for it. 

Up next is this Ulta Beauty Nude Matte Eye Primer. Um, no. It just doesn’t work for me. My shadows always crease when I use this. 

Next is this Winky Lux Diamond Powder. It was sent to me as an extra with an order. I never really got to use it because it just isn’t my shade, so it’s time to let it go.

Next is this E.L.F setting powder in ‘Yellow’. I actually really like this stuff. It sets concealer pretty well and has minimal flashback. I almost don’t want to get rid of it, but since getting the Kat Von D Lock It Translucent Powder I haven’t even looked at this stuff. It’s a great product, but I know it’s not getting the love it deserves with me. Time to say goodbye.

Here’s a product I might get backlash for disliking. It’s the Milk Blur Stick in sample size. I’ve known about Milk before they ever even hit Sephora, and have had this Long before it was popular. That being said, I’ve spent a lot of time with this. It’s just too dry for me. I have dry and sensitive skin. While the formula is not actually drying, the stick itself always leaves my face red. Rubbing that dry little thing against my skin is just plain uncomfortable. I’ve also tried using a fluffy brush on it and applying it that way, but it has Nothing like the same effect as putting the actual blur stick to your skin like it’s intended to be. My skin just can’t get over it so it has to go. 

Next is this Jelly Pong Pong Supercharged Shadow Duo in ‘Electric’. The shades are beautiful. 

I mean honestly, look at this beauty! I received this in a subscription service. I used to use it all the time until I discovered the price. It’s $22.95! There’s so little product that I find myself avoiding it because the price point makes me feel like it’s too precious for any old look. Consequently, I hardly ever use it and it’s just going to waste. So pretty though. 

Next is this Ulta Beauty Palette. I love hate this palette so much. The mattes are beyond crap but the foiled shadows and the satin are pretty decent. 

I actually like ‘Seaside’ ‘Nostalgia’ and ‘Delicate’. I might actually depot these, but the rest are a nope and consequently, I’m saying “Buh-Bye” to the whole palette. 

The last item I’m decluttering is this Black Radiance Artisan Baked Blush in ‘Plum Sorbet’. I believe this was a limited edition item as it’s no longer available on the site and the price is Way higher than I bought it for on Amazon. It took me a while to decide to part with this. 

The color is so beautiful and rich! I hate seeing this go. Especially since it seems Limited Edition and would be great for my collection. I just pass it by so often and I know it deserves better than that. I hate to part with it, but it’s time to let it go. Someone else will give it all the love it deserves. 

That’s it! Whew! If you made it this far give yourself a round of applause. You are clearly about that declutter life! 

While I may be sad (or glad) to see these products go, I’m so happy to have been able to try them, and I can’t wait to try all new things. 

Did you like this declutter? How would you feel if we did this once a month? 

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

