Gem or Junk

L.A. Colors 16 Pan Palette: Dollar Store Diamond or Dud?

For some reason, makeup is the Last thing I look for at the Dollar Store. It’s like I just subconsciously assume the products will be horrible. I don’t know why I fall into that whole makeup hierarchy thing where the assumption is the more you spend, the higher the quality, but that is complete and utter bullshit (sorry for the potty mouth, but the more I think about it, the crappier I realize it is). Anyway, before we find out if my preconceived classist indoctrination is correct, let’s go over a few quick facts about the brand: 

  1. The brand is cruelty free.
  2. They’ve been a dollar store staple for a Very long time.
  3. The brand’s headquarters is actually in Ontario, California, Not L.A, weird, right?

Now let’s get down to business. I saw this in Dollar General and I just couldn’t stop looking at it. 

*I mean, these colors just speak to me!*

It was only $4.00 and I just knew it wasn’t gonna be all that, but I had to try. The name of this palette is ‘Smokin’.

I was shocked by the swatches. Even without primer, these had so much pigmentation! The shadows are soft without being powdery. 

The shadows are smooth and blend able with No fall out! 

I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised. I got an Amazing palette and learned a good lesson. 

Never judge a product by it’s price tag. Every brand, (even high end ones) will have its hits and misses. 

That’s part of what makes makeup so interesting. It’s an art, so just find your medium whether it’s a 4 dollar product, or a 54 dollar product, and have fun making something beautiful.

Until Next We Meet,

Leave a Reply

